Much better than a hotel. Clean room with period features. Value for Money
Room was spotlessly clean. Lovely exposed beams. Pub is a good friendly local away from the Uni students. Staff are friendly & helpful. Breakfast made to order (incl). Car parking easy, practically next door & only 2.20 for 24 hours. Good value for money, & better than any hotel.

 

R Cottingham Stayed May 2014

 

"Great value, great chef!"

I am recently back form Canterbury where I stayed at The Kings Head for 3 nights B&B. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the city centre. The staff and locals are friendly and helpful and my bedroom was cosy and comfortable. Although I was travelling alone, I felt very comfortable at all times - even sitting in the bar with my book and a pint! I had 2 evening meals there and both were fabulous - the young chef deserves a special mention - he is very skilled and the food was delicious.
Canterbury is a fantastic city to visit - so much to do and see - and it I were to go back, I would book myself back into The Kings Head.


Stayed February 2014, travelled solo

 

"Can't fault the place"
Comfortable room, great breakfast, friendly staff. The pub is about a ten-fifteen minute walk into the centre, perfectly placed for sightseeing. The building has plenty of character and is surrounded by some decent little restaurants - a nice Indian, a good chippy - although the pub's own food is great too. I had very little to complain about, except perhaps the low ceiling in my shower, but at the price I paid that was something I was happy to live with - and in a way it added to the building's charm.

 

Stayed February 2014

 

"What a great stay"

My partner and I were attending a music festival for bank holiday. I booked this hotel as it looked quaint, within walking distance to the City and served real ale.. What a little gem!!! The room was quaint, with beamed ceilings, nicely decorated and very clean. It had character to say the least. There is only 3 rooms so it is very personal. We did come in late in the morning :) so the creaky floor boards were a bit loud but all in all, perfect. The garden is a sanctuary and you would not think that there was a busy main road out front. Parking is available too. The owner had 6 cats, which I adored. Breakfast was smashing. Very hospitable and an awesome memory..

 

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple

 

Home from Home - What more could you want?
I was staying in Canterbury for a family wedding and needed somewhere close to them and not too pricey, which is why I chose The Kings Head Inn. It is a traditional pub with oak beams (perfect for a lover of history, like me, who is 5ft 2" - anyone over 6ft might find it a little "cosy").
I was very impressed by the level of service and the cleanliness of the B&B. Nothing was too much trouble; The" Inn Keepers" are so relaxed and friendly it really made the experience a very enjoyable one. Sometimes when I travel alone I feel a bit awkward about doing so, but I really felt at home here.
The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious - real value for money.
I would definitely recommend this B&B to my friends (in fact, I have already begun to do so) and I look forward to my next visit. Thanks so much!
 
A Penny May 2014
 
Friendly and comfortable
A very welcoming, friendly and comfortable and clean place to stay.
 
B Penny March 2014
 
Really nice room, super fast WiFi and food of a superb quality
The room was lovely and clean with a nice TV, kettle and really comfy bed
Super fast WiFi and after I had settled in my room I decided to eat in the bar and what a great decision that was - food and presentation were superb
Awoke in the morning and came down to a nice filling breakfast
If you are reading this review then m advise is book now.
 
C Spooner March 2014
 
Lovely for a weekend away
 Lovely place to stay for a weekend. Great location for getting into town centre just a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was one of the best I've had at a B&B. Nice beer garden and very friendly & helpful staff & owners. Room was small but nice. Has lovely wooden beams throughout. Very peaceful, no noise from pub below. Bathroom very small but spotlessly clean as was the room. Lots of little complimentary extras in bathroom and on tea tray. Had a lovely stay. Would visit again.
 
E Wren March 2014
 
Lovely, city-ish, mini break..
Went to canterbury for a last, minute break with the boyfriend for my birthday. Looked up the best places to stay in the area & kings head inn come up, and it didn't disappoint. Staff were helpful, a place for the car on the drive, lovely, lovely bedroom with en suite- everything you need in there. A clean and quaint stay, & breakfast was yummy. 10 minute walk into the town centre. Perfect. Thank you.
 
M Kim March 2014
 
Perfect little B&B with everything you could want
You realise when you're looking around the room for something to find fault with that the room is actually perfect. And that sums this B&B up. I received a friendly welcome before being taken upstairs to my room. Tall people may need to duck but whilst the room was small, it was very well stocked with the little things that make all the difference to your visit. Extra milk on the tea tray, selection of toiletries and other small but thoughtful additions. The bed was very comfortable and the amenities were just fine. The shower did make me jump somewhat as it makes a noise when the waste disposal unit kicks in but I can live with that! The bar downstairs was equally pleasant and well priced.
The breakfast was predictably, lovely. You got to choose from a range of hot / cold and healthy / not so much or a mixture the night before and to give a time you'd like your breakfast. It reminds me of how hotels used to be run some years back. You go downstairs in the morning, you get your paper and your food appears, exactly as you requested it.
All round friendly place which is very well priced given its location. I just hope reviews like this don't mean the price goes up!
 
H Scott April 2014
 
Proper, old-fashioned pub inn
This must be the last of a dying breed: a proper, old-fashioned pub inn. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and outstanding value for money, the Kings Head is a real gem. Yes, the rooms are on the small side and if you're tall, there's not much headroom (this is an old building, after all), but that just makes them cosy, in my opinion. The quaint exposed beams and quirkiness (some doorways are really low) give it real character. The pub downstairs serves excellent food (the Sunday roast was delicious) and is a great place to have a drink (the crowd was jovial and included families - I got the impression most customers are regulars). As the inn is over a pub, there will be some noise - so if you're a light or early sleeper, take earplugs - but it quietened down by midnight. I would thoroughly recommend the Kings Head if you're looking for a cosy, comfortable, inexpensive and conveniently-situated place to stay in Canterbury.
 
P Vermoter April 2014
 
 
 

 
Badge Icon
Email Us
Wifi available
Find us on facebook
Tripadvisor

Coming up this week

Tuesday 21/11

Live Sport

 Sevilla v Liverpool (7:45pm)UEFA Champions League


Wednesday 22/11

Live Sport

 FK Qarabag v Chelsea (5pm)UEFA Champions League

 

 FC Basel v Man Utd (7:45pm)UEFA Champions League


Thursday 23/11

Live Sport

 Cologne v Arsenal (6pm)UEFA Europa League

 

 Everton v Atalanta (8pm)UEFA Europa League


Special Event

Quiz Night (8pm)


next Saturday 25/11

Live Sport

 Liverpool v Chelsea (5:30pm)English Premier League


Join our VIP list







Available Now
Harvey's Sussex Best Bitter

1


Greene King IPA

1


There are currently no reviews available

 Thanks for visiting The King's Head
powered by websites4pubs.co.ukdrinkaware for the facts

 Home    Privacy & Cookie Policy    Terms and Conditions    Image Copyrights    Sitemap

 T.K.H. Limited ,204 Wincheap ,Canterbury ,Kent ,CT1 3RY ,Company No. 9649426 ,VAT No. 228 0310 46 ,Dr. M A Gray